Meeting controls explained

When hosting a meeting in Teams you will have access to a variety of functions and controls. The aim of this article us to explain these in detail.

You can access the meeting controls bar at the bottom of your meeting page. If it’s not visible – hover your cursor near your image in the centre of the screen (Fig 1)

Figure 1 – meeting controls bar highlighted in Teams

Overview of meeting control bar

Figure 2 – meeting controls highlighted with each identified by a number

1. Timer

This is a duration of your meeting from the point you as a host started it.

2. Turn camera on/off

This allows you enable or disable your camera in the meeting

3. Mute/unmute

Enables or disables your microphone.

4. Share (desktop, window, PowerPoint, Whiteboard)

This function allows you and other participants share desktop, application window, PowerPoint presentation or whiteboard.

Note: your device may ask you to allow access to your screen or enable permissions separately for this function to work.

5. More actions – additional functions and controls

Figure 3 – More actions menu expanded in a Teams meeting
  • Show device settings – control speaker, camera and microphone settings. You can also enable private viewing (this allows participants in a meeting move through shared presentations at their own pace).
  • Show meeting notes – notes shareable with all participants in a meeting (such as meeting minutes).
  • Enter full-screen – maximises the meeting window to fill your screen.
  • Keypad – for dialling into an external number. If you don’t see the option to dial a number, your org may not have purchased a calling plan.
  • Start/stop recording – records a video of the meeting.
  • Turn off incoming video – turns off the video feeds from other meeting participants, which can be helpful if your Internet access is limited and you are struggling to hear people clearly. This doesn’t affect how others see the meeting, so the video is only turned off for you.

6. Show/hide conversation

Opens or hides the meeting chat.

7. Show/hide participants

Opens or hides the participant list, also allowing you (if you have the privileges) to invite members to a meeting from the participant list.

8. Hang up

If you are a host of the meeting, this ends the meeting for you and all participants. If you are just participating, hanging up will allow you to leave the meeting whilst other participants can continue the conversation.

For more information on Microsoft Teams visit this page.

Last updated: 27/3/2020